10 myths about school shootings

Ceicei

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
MSNBC news ran an article today regarding 10 myths about school shootings. Did any of these myths fit with what you thought when you hear or read of yet another school shooting?

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/15111438/

- Ceicei

punisher73

Senior Master
Reaction score
Thanks for the link. As a school liaison officer, I always read as much as I can about this topic.

Archangel M

Senior Master
Reaction score
I honestly believe the media shares a slice of blame here. They give these disenfranchised people a platform [posthumously] they wouldnt normally get. The folks "on the edge" of doing these things feel that they will go from a nobody to a celebrity, and in a way they do. Do we really need the coverage that these stories get? Do we all need to know every detail of these peoples lives and their twisted reasons for doing what they do? While these events are news worthy, the coverage is over the top. The media machine is only helping to fill the meat grinder for the next story.

thardey

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I honestly believe the media shares a slice of blame here. They give these disenfranchised people a platform [posthumously] they wouldnt normally get. The folks "on the edge" of doing these things feel that they will go from a nobody to a celebrity, and in a way they do. Do we really need the coverage that these stories get? Do we all need to know every detail of these peoples lives and their twisted reasons for doing what they do? While these events are news worthy, the coverage is over the top. The media machine is only helping to fill the meat grinder for the next story.

That's exactly it, some people are sick enough to kill themselves and others for attention. And we keep giving it to them.

grydth

Senior Master
Reaction score