Your martial objective?

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It is an interesting question. I'm not sure I have an objective. The journey is far more interesting to me than the destination. Perhaps it is because I started training in Martial Arts at a later age.

I intend to continue training and learning as long as my health will permit it; hopefully all the remaining days of my life. I don't know what that will equate to in terms of rank.

Although I have learned to appreciate and strive for higher belt ranking inside my style (Isshin-Ryu), I do not see that as an 'objective' in an of itself. After all, in my style, the highest dan ranks are based not just on testing, but on time in training. I simply don't have sufficient time left to me to obtain 30 or 40 years of experience necessary to reach higher than about 3rd or 4th dan. That's OK. If I was driven to reach something I could not physically reach, that would be a bother to me; but I find that it is not.

One of my objectives has been met, but continues to be improved; and that is to tend to my health. Since one does not gain 'fitness' and then stop working and keep it, I must continue to train or I do not get to keep the benefits of fitness.

Another of my objectives has been to give me a deeper confidence in my ability to defend myself, since self-defense was certainly one of my goals when I started training. I could be mistaken; perhaps I am fooling myself; but it seems to me that now when I spar, the punches and kicks coming toward me are slower - it's like I can see them coming and DO something about them in some cases. When I started, I just got pummeled with blows I could not see coming, mostly. I'm still not fast enough responding, but it seems that I can at least see what's coming and think clear-headedly while sparring ("Here comes the attack, get ready, slip the punch, get inside, counterpunch" and etc).