Wing Chun

M

mdthomp31

Hello everyone my name is Matt, I am new to Martial Talk and look forward to talking to everyone. I started taking Wing Chun with Sifu Berger in Atlanta about two and a half years ago. I moved about 50 miles away and cannot take his class so I have to practice on my own now.I still train on my own but it is tough not having a training partner or a wing chun studio close by.I have learened Siu Lum Tao and Chum Kui and still am trying to find a good training aid for Bil Jee.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum Matt!! Enjoy your stay!

Mike

Ceicei

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Welcome! :wavey:

Where are you located?

There are quite a few people here who practice Wing Chun, and they may be able to supply you with ideas/resources/suggestions/locations that may help with your situation.

- Ceicei

bart

Brown Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
mdthomp31 said:
Hello everyone my name is Matt, I am new to Martial Talk and look forward to talking to everyone. I started taking Wing Chun with Sifu Berger in Atlanta about two and a half years ago. I moved about 50 miles away and cannot take his class so I have to practice on my own now.I still train on my own but it is tough not having a training partner or a wing chun studio close by.I have learened Siu Lum Tao and Chum Kui and still am trying to find a good training aid for Bil Jee.

I wouldn't let 50 miles stop you. Often times a teacher will allow a student to train at a distance and will let you come in for training once or twice a month. Without some warm bodies, you're not going to go far with your WC training at the stage that you are. Have you approached your teacher to see if he has a distance program? You may be surprised by the answer.

Other quality instructors like Duncan Leong have distance training that will allow you to create a study group and learn as you go with travel to train with the Sifu at regular intervals.