why

thecrow

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
this may have been covered, by why do some teacher knock the crap out of there student in a demo?

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
this may have been covered, by why do some teacher knock the crap out of there student in a demo?

I am just an MA newbie, so feel free to disregard this.

First reason - to gauge the student's ability to deal with stress, pain, and pressure.

Second reason - to get the student used to taking a hit. Uke is part of MA training.

Third reason - to get the student to take the lesson seriously be demonstrating how effective the method being taught is, even at lower power (and trust me, most of them are demonstrating at a VERY low power and slow speed even if the student is being bounced around like a rag doll. If they applied full power, the student would be out cold).

In my dojo, learning to hit requires being hit in return. We do not use full power, nor do we hit to injure. But we do not aim away from the target, and when sparring or practicing self-defense techniques, if the uke doesn't block, deflect, or dodge, the uke gets hit. If it's a good hard punch, then it hurts some.

I don't particularly enjoy it when I am the demo for my sensei and I end up with a nice set of bruises the next day. But it is a necessary part of training, I accept that, and I move on. Pain is weakness leaving the body. If I thought my sensei was a sadist, I'd leave - after all, I am there voluntarily.

Twin Fist

Grandmaster
Reaction score
any teacher that doesnt hit thier students is in fact ROBBING those students.

here is why

two things that keep someone from defending themselves are:
1) fear of pain
2) inability to handle pain

those are two different things