Why can't we?

JasonASmith

Black Belt
Reaction score
I've posted this in the Karate forum, but anyone can chime in, and please do...
I've been hearing a lot of talk about NOT using deep stances in an actual confrontation, and I am wondering why not? I understand the principle of using deep stances in the kata and in the Dojo to train the legs, and then using more shallow stances out in the black...
Why not use deep stances? I've used deep stances in Kumite, and I have found that I get hit LESS when I'm down in it...Granted, Kumite is still in the controlled atmosphere of the Dojo, but Kumite is supposed to be representative of confrontation isn't it? I understand not using deep stances when there isn't room, but even simply lowering oneself seems(to me) to be a good idea...The less target you present to your opponent, the better...right? Please keep in mind before you answer this thread that I have only been back to Karate for about two months, so I am relatively new to this idea(i.e. cut me some slack, I'm an idiot still)
That's it, fire away!

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If it works for you, then more power to you.

I am guessing that in a "real" fight, versus controlled sparring, opponents are going to be shooting in pretty quickly. You're not going to be able to get that first step nearly as quickly, if you're in a deep stance.

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
You're not going to be able to get that first step nearly as quickly, if you're in a deep stance.

Ya beat me to saying it..You are NOT an idiot Jason so don't put yourself down, your a novice plaine and simple...The last thing you want to do is broadcast your intent or that you have some specilaized training to your oppoinent, sinking into a low stance might do that..He just might charge at you like a fast freight train before you get set...My 2 cents...

twendkata71

Black Belt
Reaction score