Which one is recommended?

B

Bagatha

I have always been interested in sword arts (real swords not ike fencing or anything) so after looking on the internet and in the yellow pages I found 2 schools in my greater area and wanted to know what people thought. There were other hand to hand combat schools which "incorporated" weapons in their stuff but thats not really what I want, I want to be able to focus totally on 1 thing. Anyway these are the schools I found:

http://edmonton_kendo_club.tripod.com/home.htm
^ a Kendo club

I also found a Kenjutsu club.
http://www.noblehouse.afternet.com/

I watched a class from both, both were very small. The kenjutsu club, the guy wanted me to pay like several months at once and he would not allow me to try a class first:shrug: that kind of irritated me, as I am a TKD instructor and know this is not normal behaviour. The class was also very slow-paced, there was no sparring in the one I watched and he was obviously not affiliated with any particular federation or organization. One MMA guy I talked to claimed he had a long lineage. It seemed that they mostly did sequences and partner work in this class.

The Kendo club was taught with lots of drills and footwork, was higher energy but still slow compared to MT & TKD. They used bamboo swords where the kenjutsu guys used real ones. They also sparred a bit. I didnt see any patterns although I was told they did exist. It was a primarily drils calss. I was approached immediatley, they were very friendly, I was invited to participate in a couple of classes before commiting. Also wanted to be payed in advance but it was much cheaper. It claims to be a part of a national organization.