Which is the best gi for BJJ?

Love2Train8541

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm deciding between getting the Elite sports gi, the Sanabul gi or the Hyperfly gi. I'm just starting BJJ and I want a descent prize for a good quality brand. Any advice?

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I have a handful of gis and I really don't notice the difference when I'm rolling.

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
I've been training BJJ for 23 years and I mostly just buy whatever brand is most affordable. I'm fond of Sanabul, which seems to fit me particularly well. I haven't noticed a significant difference in the quality between different brands.

Hot Lunch

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I'm considering starting the "long journey" myself. If there's no correlation between price and quality (as there tends to be with karate gis), then I suppose that would free me up to choose according to the looks and designs that appeal to me most.

OP
L

Love2Train8541

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been training BJJ for 23 years and I mostly just buy whatever brand is most affordable. I'm fond of Sanabul, which seems to fit me particularly well. I haven't noticed a significant difference in the quality between different brands.
Ohh too late, I already ordered the Elite gi :( am I better off getting the Sanabul instead?

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Ohh too late, I already ordered the Elite gi :( am I better off getting the Sanabul instead?
Not necessarily. Sanabuls fit me well, but your body proportions probably aren’t the same as mine.

Pretty much any BJJ gi will do the job for you. If you stick with training long enough to wear out a few gis, you may find some brands that you prefer. If you have a bunch of disposable income, you might decide to blow some of it on an expensive gi that you think looks particularly stylish. If you’re like me, you can just get a basic economy model that works just as well.

OP
L

Love2Train8541

White Belt