What can I expect if I start studdying Wing Chung?

jay111

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been studying Taekwon DO for 20 years. And I am considering studdying another art now that I have gotten my masters certification. What can I expect if I start studying Wing Chung? WIll my experience in Taekwon DO help me at all?

Eric_H

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello Jay,

There's an old saying - To make a great striker a great wrestler -10 years. To make a great wrestler a great striker - 1 year." Unless you've done some grappling type experience in your TKD training (which i understand is not common) you'll have a hard time adjusting your stances and responses to take pressure to your center of gravity.

The good part is (IMO) most WC doesn't have a very solid long range game. You've already got experience there so it will help.

wtxs

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I have been studying Taekwon DO for 20 years. And I am considering studdying another art now that I have gotten my masters certification. What can I expect if I start studying Wing Chung? WIll my experience in Taekwon DO help me at all?

With 20 yrs doing just TKD, you experience may help you or it may make the new learning experience an nightmare, I had Tang Soo Do backgroung. We are talking about martial arts from the opposite end of the spectrum, big long range movement vs compact close in-your-face defend and counter at the same time (some times can be carried out with the same defending arm). My advise if you choose WC, pretty much "forget" the TKD or any other art which had in-grained in you, the mind set and guiding principles are like night and day. Good luck and have fun.

yak sao

Senior Master
Reaction score
definitely come with an empty cup, WC is very different, even compared to other kung fu styles.
You are going from Korean to Chinese, so you may see a big difference in the approach...it is not as structured, it is more laid back as a rule. (obviously this varies between schools)