Was CMA your first choice, or did you settle?

Tames D

RECKLESS
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
When I started Martial Arts at 15 years of age I didn't know the difference between Karate, Kung Fu and all the rest. I met a couple of guys named Jimmy Woo and Frank Woolsey and I was so impressed that I started training with them. There was no shopping around at dojo's and researching different arts, I just went for it.

I feel I got lucky and as it turned out I learned how to fight from a legend. But I know that the opposite can easily happen.

Did you search out a CMA school? Did you go with the first one? Did you make a good decision? Did you settle?

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
my first school was based entirely on the availability of what was in town. when I moved from there I had a choice of studying FMA (Sikaran) or CMA ( Pai Lum) as it happened I got a job closer to where Sikaran was taught. I only started studying CMA a few years later when I had a good solid base in Sikaran, so CMA was not my first art studied.

OP
Tames D

Tames D

RECKLESS
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yes

I ended up in CMA because of a back injury that took me out of TKD. That was 16 years ago and I couldn't be happier.
At the time you left TKD for CMA did you feel you were settling for less? At least until you realized the CMA offered more for you?

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
At the time you left TKD for CMA did you feel you were settling for less? At least until you realized the CMA offered more for you?

No I didn't.

[To be honest I was always interested in CMA.

Waaaaaaay back when I started Jujutsu I can remember reading about Xingyiquan and just thinking how much I really wanted to learn that. And of course as a kid I watched the first "Kung Fu" series and Bruce Lee was pretty popular. So I was always very interested in CMA actually I settled for Jujutsu, but I did love what I learned after I got there.