Turning on Heels?

Michael89

Orange Belt
Reaction score
So I'm just starting out. I'm not really that good at pivoting on the heels at same time when I punch. Is there any advice to offer to improving on turning heels? Thanks.

Last edited:

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
Practice practice and practice the only way to improve anything

Buka

Sr. Grandmaster
Staff member
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I'm not sure what you mean, are we talking about pivoting on the heel as opposed to pivoting on the ball of the foot?

OP
Michael89

Michael89

Orange Belt
Reaction score
pivoting on the heels. looks like I need to do a lot of stretching too

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
If you change from "horse stance" into "bow arrow stance", you will need to pivot your

- front foot on the heel, and
- back foot on the toes.

This way both of your feet will be parallel and not on the same line.

Also a pivot back foot on the

- heel is committed,
- toes is not committed (ready to spring).

pivot.jpg

Last edited:

LFJ

Senior Master
Reaction score
If you change from "horse stance" into "bow arrow stance", you will need to pivot your

- back foot on the toes.

This way both of your feet will be parallel and not on the same line.

Also a pivot back foot on the

- heel is committed,
- toes is not committed (ready to spring).

pivot.jpg

You're posting on the wrong forum section again.

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Kung-Fu Wang's post references generic kung-fu will not be very helpful if you practice Wing Chun, and more specifically a WC branch that advocates doing "stance turning" by pivoting both feet simultaneously with your weight on your heels. I once trained in such a branch of Yip Man Wing Chun and then switched to another branch, also coming from Yip Man, that favored turning one foot at a time with the weight on the center of the foot.