The Wrong Road?

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have been saying for a few years here at MT that the American economy in particular is on very shaky ground as it is fundamentally funded by debt. The consequences of such a system are easily witnessed, for you tend to find that growth goes to service the debt rather than benefit the population by genuine investment and job creation.

Here's a brief BBC video article that tells the tale very clearly:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-14678859

Ihttp://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-14678859'd be interested in seeing something similar for the UK. All I can say is that, despite a period of great growth in the 'money' in our GDP, my personal financial position is that I am 30% worse off in real terms than I was ten years ago.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
All I can say is, I'm currently working on refinancing my house, getting a better interest rate and cutting it to 15 years from 30. I believe we can make the payments well enough, we will save some $120,000 in interest over the life of the loan, and paying it off in 15 years means we get 15 years of our lives back (minus the 2 and 1/2 we've already paid).

I hate living with debt, even a mortgage. The car is paid for, our schooling is paid for, we pay off the credit cards in full every month. I hate paying interest. I hate having the obligation hanging over my head.

How "Un-American" of me. Aren't we all supposed to run on debt forever?

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
I hate living with debt, even a mortgage. The car is paid for, our schooling is paid for, we pay off the credit cards in full every month. I hate paying interest. I hate having the obligation hanging over my head.

I agree, I can't stand debt

How "Un-American" of me. Aren't we all supposed to run on debt forever?