The Things We Do

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Comments when people find out I'm a karate student / instructor at age 62:

1) I used to do martial arts when I was a kid. (What made you quit?)

2) Why do you still do it? (Why don't you?)

3) I was gonna do that someday. (Today is a good day.)

4) I do CrossFit. (Great supplement to martial arts!)

5) Show me something. (Trust me, you don't want that free lesson.)

6) Really? That's for kids. (Hmmm, but your WoW and Minecraft aren't?)

7) You must be a violent person. (We're all violent. I train to only be violent if I must, only to the extent necessary, and to do it well if I'm forced to.)

Feel free to add your own...

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
You nailed most of them, but a few that I get:

Remind me never to fight you (Why are you fighting anyone)
You don't look like someone who could beat me up (Considering you're untrained, you're probably not the best to make that decision)

With kali: what's that? I explain..oh, so you like stabbing people-leads to the "You must be violent" comment.

If I mention muay thai, kempo, or BJJ: what's that? Oh so you must like MMA. Leads to either of the two I said above, or one of Bills.

I normally just say karate if anyone asks. Otherwise I'm going through a whole explanation just for one of a couple predictable responses.

_Simon_

Senior Master
Reaction score
"Oh cool, what belt are yooou???"

I tell them.

*the deer in headlights look*

Have to go through and explain the whooole kyu/dan system.

"Errherrherr, remind me not to mess with you!"

..... it's a process 🤣

(Granted, it is nice people showing an interest, but it's always the same thing, only about the belts, and assuming I would hurt them... funny huh!)

OP
Bill Mattocks

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score