That's a lot of forms

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
So...I have 9 new forms for my next test.

My school does the Kibon (basic) and Palgwe (advanced) forms. We also do the KKW required black belt forms, and alternate versions of those (usually with some minor differences in the beginning and end, and some extra stuff added in the middle).

Our belt system means that we typically have 1-2 new forms per test. A few tests have no new form (but other stuff added to compensate).

Well, my Master has decided Taegeuks are going to be a thing now. We're not getting rid of the Palgwes or Kibons, and there will still only be a maximum of 2 new belts per form. We're also staggering the release so its not a shock to our higher ranking students.

However, as an instructor, I don't get the luxury of a staggered release. So in addition to the alternate Taebaek, I have to learn all 8 of the Taegeuks for my next test. I also need to pay closer attention because "Tae___k" is not enough to hear.

That's 9 forms total.

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
- You want to grow tall. You don't want to grow fat.
- Going through the elementary school 5 times won't get you a PhD degree.

You have to be able to tell which form is beginner level, intermediate level, and advance level. IMO, one form in each level should be enough.

Some systems define those levels as:

1. Beginner level - offense skill.
2. Intermediate level - defense skill.
3. Advance level - combo skill.

1. Beginner level - speed training.
2. Intermediate level - body unification power training.
3. Advance level - integration training.

Last edited:
D

Deleted member 39746

That is a lot of forms. :p

You must not have enough instructors laid out in a sufficient way to stagger it so one only has to learn say 2 at a time. Always a pest when you change the cirrculem.

OP
skribs

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
- You want to grow tall. You don't want to grow fat.