Tae Kwon Do beginner

-Pete-

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi there. I've recently started TKD and I was wondering if you guys could let me know a little about what's in store for me. I'm studying Traditional Tae Kwon do which is WTF affiliated.

So far I've been to about 6-8 sessions and we are slowly learning new stuff... So far we've done punching, middle and low wrist blocks, front kick, side kick and knife edge kick. We've also done the first punch/turn/block/punch/turn etc. pattern

We've been doing a lot of fitness/flexibility stuff recently and haven't done anywhere near as much pad work as at the beginning - is this fairly normal? When do you usually get to start sparring and doing some form of contact?

For example, the last two sessions we did 1hr of running/shuttles and then about 1hr of technique, whereas last night it was nearly all running, a tiny bit of patterns and then stretching...

Thanks to anyone who can advise me as to when we'll get onto the juicy stuff!

Pete

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hi there. I've recently started TKD and I was wondering if you guys could let me know a little about what's in store for me. I'm studying Traditional Tae Kwon do which is WTF affiliated.

So far I've been to about 6-8 sessions and we are slowly learning new stuff... So far we've done punching, middle and low wrist blocks, front kick, side kick and knife edge kick. We've also done the first punch/turn/block/punch/turn etc. pattern

We've been doing a lot of fitness/flexibility stuff recently and haven't done anywhere near as much pad work as at the beginning - is this fairly normal? When do you usually get to start sparring and doing some form of contact?

For example, the last two sessions we did 1hr of running/shuttles and then about 1hr of technique, whereas last night it was nearly all running, a tiny bit of patterns and then stretching...

Pete

Hi Pete---