starting my own studio - buying existing TMA business

333kenshin

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a black belt karate instructor looking to opening a studio of my own to teach full time. I live in a large city that is already pretty densely packed with martial arts schools, so competition is a big concern.

At the same time, I believe many traditional martial arts schools are struggling financially and in a slow-motion death spiral as the popularity of MMA rises and as modern tech, social media, and culture makes "traditional" studios hard to relate to, especially if run by a 1st-generation Korean or Japanese master with weak English.

As such, I would like to identify and approach such struggling businesses to buy as a basis for launching my own studio. Being younger, US-born, comfortable with tech, and with broad enough experience in the world (lived abroad twice) to articulate the case for traditional martial arts to younger students and their parents, I think I can rejuvenating some of these struggling older studios, while still respecting the traditional teaching style of the old masters.

The challenges:
- how to identify such struggling schools
- how to approach them with a deal that won't set them off

Any suggestions would be welcome.
Thanks!
-Dave

Christopher Adamchek

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I think this is a neat idea
The main way i would think to do it would be to introduce yourself as a potential investor in the school and ask to sit in on some classes, take a few classes, and a private lesson or two to get a feel for them as an instructor and person before getting deeper in the details.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Why do you need to buy an existing business? Why not just open your own and start advertising to build a base of students?

ShortBridge

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score