Sport Taekwondo-How important is height?

ETinCYQX

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm resigned to the fact that I won't ever be a high level taekwondo athlete, I don't really have any desire to be. I do however have a desire to compete again, I never have at senior, and I'd like to have a few decent tournament results before I hang it up permanently. :)

Right now I walk around at 185lbs. I'm 5'8" and I have a 33" inseam. My question is, for coaches and fighters of whom there are a few here, should I try and drop a few weight classes? Too short for the 80kg division?

If it helps any, the field here is pretty thin, I'm 20, and black belt male.

I don't particularly want to lose weight, I'm a fairly stocky guy and I haven't been any lighter than about 165 since I was 15. This isn't a question of physical condition but one of range and weight classes.

I ask here because 1) I appreciate the opinions here, 2) I have little experience coaching seniors, and 3) I haven't fought in a long time. I do compete in Judo at 81kg though.

Thanks.

StudentCarl

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
I don't think weight class relates much to height, as there are plenty of tall guys in all divisions. I suggest emphasizing fitness, mobility and technique so you move well. You may need to develop more the shorter fighter's game, that's all--and mobility and fitness are critical to that. Not knowing about your flexibility, that will be important so you can score on tall heads too.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Jaeimseu

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
My personal experience tells me that you'll be on the short side at 185. I used to compete at around 140-155 and even at that weight lots of guys were taller than me (I'm about 5'10"). My inseam is only 30", though. You're lucky!