Some general newbie questions

CMack11

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I'm a beginner studying the 7* Mantis system and had a few newbie questions.

What are outside gate and inside gate? Blocking from each gate?

We learned a dil sau (sp?) technique tonight where we were to block from the outside gate and use the dil sau and grab and pull the arm and I was having trouble remembering my gates.

Another one--Should I be stretching every day? What about situps? I was always taught to rest muscle groups so they can have time to repair and strenghten. I am terribly weak w/ my situps right now. I do them 3x / week right now, giving them 2 days rest on Sunday and Monday. Does this seem OK?

Also, for those who helped me out when I was searching--thanks again! I'm loving class, and get to test sometime this week or next to qualify for the full beginner class (instead of my 2x / week basic class I'm doing now). I'm excited...
Thanks in advance...

Sarah

Senior Master
Reaction score
Welcome to MT....I can’t help with your Kung Fu, but look around there are some great threads already on stretching...

7starmantis

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hey CMAck11,