site building resources

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Guys, I'm trying to take over the day to day affairs of my dojo website but have never dealt with maintaining a website before. My question is what are the best resources for a complete newbie when it comes to building and/or maintaining a website? I'm a relatively quick study and don't have a problem experimenting with new things. Books, websites, anything would be of great help. What program do I need on my computer to do this and so forth.

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
My toolbox is basically DreamWeaver and Photoshop.

Depending on the complexity of the site, and some server concerns, you can easily go the more affordable route of FrontPage and PaintShop Pro, or GIMP (free, but a little geeky at times)

Also, you can check out http://www.rustaz.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=152 as I think we had a similar discussion there, but can't remember exactly at the moment.

mantis

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
theletch1 said:
Guys, I'm trying to take over the day to day affairs of my dojo website but have never dealt with maintaining a website before. My question is what are the best resources for a complete newbie when it comes to building and/or maintaining a website? I'm a relatively quick study and don't have a problem experimenting with new things. Books, websites, anything would be of great help. What program do I need on my computer to do this and so forth.

depends if those updates have to run from a database or not (which i doubt).
a very good resource is always www.w3schools.com
look at their HTML tutorials.
if you want go ahead and tell me what your website is so i can find out if you only need to know HTML or know something else.

the process is usually:
1. FTP into the site's directory
2. download a local copy of the files on your machine
4. edit the HTML files
5. FTP back the files into the site's directory.