Sharing with other Arts

FearlessFreep

Senior Master
Reaction score
One thought on Traditional Arts verus MMA.

I'm a musician, I play bass guitar; I used to play both bass and lead guitar but my bass playing was better, but the split concentration slowed me down on both sides. I dropped playing guitar with any seriousness and now I'm a pretty good bass guitarist; better then if I was still trying to do both.

I guess the thought is that traditional arts were actually designed for a purpose of combat, so I would be loathe to say 'it's not sufficient' until I was sure I'd adequately explored that full range of what the art teaches.

In the same time I could learn to kick and grapple, I think I could learn to kick much better. As is being talked about in another thread about punch mechanics, proper form and proper body movement is imperative. TKD uses very specific and precise body motions to gain speed, and therefore power, into the weapon striking surface. Can I master the philosophies of TKD in regards to power and strategy and body movement and then say 'not good enough' and move on to something else? I don't think I could. More importantly, I'm not sure someone could with any traditional art.

I think that's an important part; it's not that TKD does not want to embrace grappling or clinching or whatever. It's simply that TKD has a philosophy of combat and grappling is outside of the direction of that approach so to embrace grappling would be a distraction. Not that grappling is bad, just that it's...elsewhere, philosophically.

Case in point, when watching grapplers versue strikers in an open match, I keep seeing grapplers shoot forward to grab the legs/thighs of their opponents to take them down. This works in grappling, but from a TKD point of view, it's suicidal to get your head down like that and expose your back and neck. Not that either is 'wrong' or 'right', they just come from different philosophies of how to engage the enemy.