Shadow boxing with weights

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
so lately I've been doing some shadow boxing rounds with small weights something I've never done before but I've noticed a lot of benefits from it my arms feel stronger and when I don't use them I can punch faster and harder. It's been interesting to see how it develops. Anyone else use this? I know there's some people who believe doing that slows you down but I haven't noticed it

pdg

Senior Master
Reaction score
If you keep good form and don't go too heavy I can't see it slowing you down.

If anything, I'd say the opposite... Shadow box with bare hands, develop lightning speed, then add a pound to each hand (16oz gloves) - it's hardly going to speed up.

So (my opinion), if you get used to shadow boxing with say 2lb in each hand, you'll go faster for longer with lighter loads.

Edit to add: I can see it slowing you down while you're weighted, sure...

_Simon_

Senior Master
Reaction score
Ah nice HH. Yeah have never really tried it but it sounds like it would be beneficial.

I think mostly what I've heard is that it's never a great idea to add weights to technique training, because it can alter how you perform the technique and thus screwing up motor patterns that you need to rely on for your sport (and introduce new movement patterns which can throw you off when it counts), but I can't see how doing a little would hurt.

I've also heard the opposite, that it helps reinforce good technique, as you have to perform the technique under greater stress/resistance and it makes you focus more on keeping it good. But can see it going the other way too (when fatiguing, breaking proper technique just in order to beat the pull of the weight and make it easier etc).

But awesome that you're already feeling results from it, I'll have to give it a crack :)

pdg

Senior Master
Reaction score