Question about the Godai

Status
Not open for further replies.

KageMusha

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
First of all, Hi. This is my first post. I have been reading this forum for a while and have gotten alot of info from it, but haven't posted until now.

I am still new to the Bujinkan with just under a year of training, but I am very curious of how other dojos present and train the Godai. I like the idea of it, but do not fully understand it yet. Any help would be great.

Grey Eyed Bandit

Master of Arts
Reaction score
The concept of godai is a relic from the past, in which there were a whole lot of inaccuracies floating around as to what was really being taught in Japan. So I suggest you stop worrying about it and concentrate on moving your feet and affecting the other person's balance.

Fu_Bag

Blue Belt
Reaction score
KageMusha,

What you may find out here is that the Godai training method that was originally spread in the 80's isn't looked upon so nicely by some people. There should be heaps of information on this topic scattered around the Ninjutsu section. Check all of that out and you'll see what I mean. At the very least, I think that Don Roley and Kizaru have discussed how those who live and train in Japan see the issue. That is a very good place to start.

Take care,

Fu Bag :)

eyebeams

Purple Belt
Reaction score
First of all, Hi. This is my first post. I have been reading this forum for a while and have gotten alot of info from it, but haven't posted until now.

I am still new to the Bujinkan with just under a year of training, but I am very curious of how other dojos present and train the Godai. I like the idea of it, but do not fully understand it yet. Any help would be great.