Pick Another Style

ArmorOfGod

Senior Master
Reaction score
This question goes for those of you who have "majored" in one martial art style for a couple of years or so.

If you had to pick a completely different martial art/fighting style instead of the one that you have majored in, which would it be and why?

AoG

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Recently went from American Kenpo to Southeast Asian combat arts.

Due to a job change I was left in a situation where my home, work, and school were in seperate regions of New England.

I went about getting feedback about a lot of schools near me. After getting honest and realistic feedback from a current student in the school as well as a nosbleed-ranked FMA instructor, I visitedl...and was totally blown away by the instructors, the students, and the school.

A large portion of the students at my school are instructors themselves, or Guro May would say, "Students that have their own schools." It's a school like nothing I've ever seen...and I'm enjoying it very much. :asian:

Ybot

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Oh, gee, that's such a hard quetion for me... there are so many styles that fasinate me out there...

First there are the styles that I feel would help my Brazilian Jiu-jitsu:

Judo, Sambo, Folkstyle Wrestling, Greco Roman Wrestling, and Catch-As-Catch-Can Wreslting.

Then there are arts that I've looked at and found intriging for what ever reason:

Fencing (Foil, Epee, and Saber), Boxing, Systema, Tai Chi Ch'aun, and Aikido.

Also, now with my 6+ years of BJJ I'd love to go back and train more in the Karate art I started in. I think that the kinistetic awareness I've since gained from grappling would make a major difference as to how I look at Karate.

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score