Opening a can of worms?

D

DanRyunAndrew

Well, I hope not! However, as I am, for the most part, a COMPLETE NOVICE in blades, I fear this post may start a riot! :D

I'd like to purchase a matched set of a trainer and a live blade. I'd think that it would be an added edge to traing with the same blade you would be carrying, yes?

OK! So, having said that, what combo's are out there? Are there any that the more experienced members can recommend?

Respectfully,

Andy

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The Gunting from Bran Frank, Check Here. BRAM is a member.

Also, Emerson has some Here and you can get the matching live blade as well.

Also, if you are just looking for a Trainer in Aluminum, check Here for Warrior's Den. Renegade is also a member here.

Phil Elmore

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Spyderco offers several of its excellent folding knives with matching factory trainers. (The Gunting, previously mentioned, is also made by Spyderco.) Whenever possible, a factory-made trainer from the same manufacturer is definitely the way to go, because it will best match the look and feel of the live knife.

arnisandyz

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I think benchmade also made a trainer Balisong for a while. I think they took rejects of real balis and turned them into trainers. Kind of like a balisong butter knife. This was in the glory days of the bali (80s) so I don't know if they still do it.

dearnis.com

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
matching the trainer to the carry blade is a very good idea. There is also nothing wrong with creating your own if the manufacturers wont work with you. There are always low cost knock-offs of high-end knives that can be blunted down for training...but these are best for solo work; not on a living partner!

OP
D

DanRyunAndrew

Originally posted by arnisandyz
I think benchmade also made a trainer Balisong for a while.