Okinawan karate question

twendkata71

Black Belt
Reaction score
How many Okinawan karate stylist in here use/train with the tsumisaki geri(toe tip kick)? I still train and use it in my training eventhough I no longer study Matsubayashi shorin ryu. I find it a very practical and lethal kick, directed at vital points on the legs and torso. Let me know your thoughts.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
When I studied Uechi-ryu I learned the toe-knuckle kick and it drove me crazy! I've occasionally used a pointed-toe kick to hit a soft point but never trained it specifically.

It's amazing how many ways there are to do the front kick!

shoshinkan

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
yes indeed it is terrific if used in a Uchi manner (strike), we use the heel for Tsuki (thrust).

The ball of the foot has it's use of course but its not considered as effective in our dojo.

Brandon Fisher

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Yes I use it alot and I do condition my toe using a maki stick and the makiwara post. I have a student who breaks 1in pine on a regular basis with his big toe. People have even gotten got with it in kumite in the dojo and in tournaments by him and it hurts even when controlled.

Scarey

Yellow Belt
Reaction score