Nunchaku & Bo Katas

Discussion in 'Karate' started by tecboy, Aug 2, 2017.

1. tecboy

tecboy White Belt

I'm looking for YouTube videos or DVD to demonstrate nunchaku and Bo Katas. I can't find the right videos. Does anyone know? I'm studying Shotokan Karate.

2. DaveB

DaveB Black Belt

Shotokan as a rule has no bo kata though I think Kanazawa may have added some to his group.

Try looking for sho Shi no kun, I remember that being some people's starting kata.

3. MI_martialist

MI_martialist Blue Belt

4. Bill Mattocks

Bill Mattocks Sr. Grandmaster

• Martial Talk Alumni
    Shi shi no kun is long. Tokamine is for beginners usually.

5. Flying Crane

Flying Crane Grandmaster

And of course The usual good advice: if you are trying to learn these via video alone or as the primary method of instruction, you will have a lot of problems and it's better to shelve the idea and wait until you can find a good teacher. Mimicking the movement is easy, but doing it correctly and well, so that the kata is a good and effective training tool and not just a dance, is very unlikely through video instruction.

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. tecboy

tecboy White Belt

I'm currently in the martial art school. I just have a hard time remember the moves. Watching videos are easier way to study.

7. Bill Mattocks

• Martial Talk Alumni
    Videos are a good supplement when you can get corrections from a qualified instructor in person as well.

• Like Like x 1
  8. tecboy

tecboy White Belt

I do get correction from qualified instructors. I can't practice at home if I can't remember.

9. Bill Mattocks

• Martial Talk Alumni
    Right, I was agreeing with you.

10. MI_martialist

MI_martialist Blue Belt

I don't know if you are referring to Shushi No Kon Sho or not but this is a standard beginner kata..as can be seen by the name.

11. pgsmith

pgsmith Master Black Belt