Nunchaku & Bo Katas

TigerHeart

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I'm looking for YouTube videos or DVD to demonstrate nunchaku and Bo Katas. I can't find the right videos. Does anyone know? I'm studying Shotokan Karate.

DaveB

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Shotokan as a rule has no bo kata though I think Kanazawa may have added some to his group.

Try looking for sho Shi no kun, I remember that being some people's starting kata.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Shotokan as a rule has no bo kata though I think Kanazawa may have added some to his group.

Try looking for sho Shi no kun, I remember that being some people's starting kata.
Shi shi no kun is long. Tokamine is for beginners usually.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
And of course The usual good advice: if you are trying to learn these via video alone or as the primary method of instruction, you will have a lot of problems and it's better to shelve the idea and wait until you can find a good teacher. Mimicking the movement is easy, but doing it correctly and well, so that the kata is a good and effective training tool and not just a dance, is very unlikely through video instruction.

OP
T

TigerHeart

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
And of course The usual good advice: if you are trying to learn these via video alone or as the primary method of instruction, you will have a lot of problems and it's better to shelve the idea and wait until you can find a good teacher. Mimicking the movement is easy, but doing it correctly and well, so that the kata is a good and effective training tool and not just a dance, is very unlikely through video instruction.

I'm currently in the martial art school. I just have a hard time remember the moves. Watching videos are easier way to study.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm currently in the martial art school. I just have a hard time remember the moves. Watching videos are easier way to study.