Not sure what to do?

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
There are so many great martial arts to train in out here in Hawaii, that I just can't pick. Due to family, job, school, and other stuff, I'm probably only going to be able to focus on one at a time...and then, I want to stick with it long enough so that I can actually learn something.

So, here's where I sit. I could do what everyone else does and do MMA/BJJ. It is HUGE over here, with lots of great gyms and schools just about everywhere.

I could go back to doing FMA, just about any style you can think of has representation over here and lots of the teachers are the original people who brought it over from the Fillipines.

I could practice karate. Korean karate. Japanese karate. Okinawan karate. There's like six or seven or more different styles in each national flavor to pick from.

Right now my background is in Tang Soo Do and I would like to carry that forward to a certain extent, in my small school Mauna Kula, but I'm sure that I'm not going to be able to learn what I want to learn from the TSD instructors here. I'm more interested in the japanese or okinawan versions...so I can perhaps incorporate some of that into what I already do.

Or maybe I just need to start over see things with a beginner's mind again. Not sure what to do...

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I would go to a few classes, talk to the instructors - and possibly more importantly, a few of the students - and find places where you like the atmosphere, without regard to the style, and then go from there. When you have a list of places that you like the feel of, start doing more in-depth research into them and then decide. You may find a dojang you fall in love with, in a style you wouldn't have considered any other way.

Have fun!

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score