Need help with sparring-need advice

seca2man

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello fellow kenposits:

So I've been training for about 2 months in a AKKS school. The instructor and his top students are good people. The forms and techniques are starting to awaken some dormant muscle memory. However when it comes to sparring, let's just say that I'm plain awful! I didn't do much sparring when I first trained in EPAK, my old instructor was heavy into forms training. I know practice makes perfect, but sparring's kinda hard to practice on your own, right? For some reason when I spar, I can't seem to get out of the linear attack mind set and everything I throw usually gets blocked. Plus, the head instructor keeps pairing me up with the advanced belts which means I get the stuffing (gently) knocked out of me.

Any advice on improving my god-awful sparring? Any books or drills you guys can recommend? I personally find it a little embarassing to perform the techniques and forms reasonably well, but then fall flat on my face when sparring.

Thanks in advance!

Sean

Jonathan Randall

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yup, I do. I got my clocked cleaned after jumping into Kenpo from straight linear styles such as TKD and Shotokan (I was not advanced enough to have utilized those styles very real strengths and some of the limitations were STUDIO specific and not style specific). Answer? Aside from the obvious (more time sparring), try shadowboxing WHILE visualizing attacks from the back, side, 45 degree, 15 degree, 315 degree, etc. to your person. Practice quick transitions (while visualizing an opponent) with checks and counters at ALL angles. This is what instructor Dave Kovar in Sacramento recommended to me way back when (mid-1980's) and it worked miracles. This should help - it certainly helped me. Best of luck!

MattJ

Brown Belt
Reaction score