Moo Do Kwan

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
My buddy stared taking Moo Do Tae Kwon Do w/ his kids. He's a BB in TKD but doesn't know the history of the style. Can anyone help me?

Martial Tucker

Black Belt
Reaction score
IcemanSK said:
My buddy stared taking Moo Do Tae Kwon Do w/ his kids. He's a BB in TKD but doesn't know the history of the style. Can anyone help me?
I'm no expert, but I've never heard of a kwan called "Moo Do". I believe the phrase "Mu Do" is a generic expression that equates to "fighting art", or "fighting way". My guess is that the "Moo Do Tae Kwon Do" is just a title for the school your friend is attending, and has no other meaning.

At the very least, the owner of the school should be well versed on the history (if any) of a "Moo Do Kwan"

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
can't tell you its history but it was my first art. Don't know how much it has changed in the last 30 years but it looked like any other TKD back then with a lot of kicks, little hands and no ground work. Still in all it was a good starting point

OP
IcemanSK

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Thanks for your input. He says it seems like a good school. I just wondered about history.

Maybe Miles knows. Hey Miles!:)

OP
IcemanSK

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
arnisador said:
Could it have been Moo Duk Kwan instead?

I thought maybe I miss heard it, too. But its Moo Do Kwan TKD & they give Kukiwon rank.

OP
IcemanSK

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Thanks Gemini! I noticed that Moo Do Kwan was founded by (Olympic Gold medalist) Jimmy Kim's father. That's certainly a good start to a lineage.