Martial Arts GI's

opr1945

Green Belt
Reaction score
I have been looking at used Martial Arts GI's on facebook marketbook. Noticed that the majority of them, by far, are either for childern or are BJJ/Judo/etc. Many state worn once, like new. a few even say not worn. Looks to me like most people quitting are in these catagories. So does that mean non BJJ adults aren't participating or wearing GI's until they are worthless? I am brand new to Karate.

gyoja

Black Belt
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have been looking at used Martial Arts GI's on facebook marketbook. Noticed that the majority of them, by far, are either for childern or are BJJ/Judo/etc. Many state worn once, like new. a few even say not worn. Looks to me like most people quitting are in these catagories. So does that mean non BJJ adults aren't participating or wearing GI's until they are worthless? I am brand new to Karate.
This has always happened. Kids try new sports and quit all the time. BJJ is really popular around Army installations and the same thing happens with adults. I let my kids try the class for 30 days before they have to purchase a uniform to help avoid this very thing.

Hot Lunch

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
From what I've seen, BJJ gi companies spend alot more on advertising and sponsorship. So when guys get inspired to try BJJ by watching Jocko Willink and Ryan Michler, you might see white belts wearing a $200 Origin. Shoyoroll does alot of advertising as well, and you'll see white belts wearing that too. They're able to sell these gis online, because they're worth something.

Karate gi companies don't really advertise much. If your dojo gives you a free gi or you buy the cheapest thing you can find, the amount you'd get for it wouldn't be worth your time of trying to sell it.

Last edited:

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score