Loss of Appetite

ktaylor75

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I am fairly new to this exercise business, as i began just a month ago. Maybe someone could tell me if this is normal or not. It seems the more I work out, which is 4-5 times a week between kenpo, cardio kickboxing, and going to the gym, the less of an appetite I have. Some people have told me that I should be eating 6 small meals a day, but I can barely manage to swallow 2 meals. I have lost 18 pounds in the past month of beginning my martial arts journey.I was just wondering if anyone else ever lost their appetite when beginning an exercise program, or if I should contact my doc. Thanks.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yes, to both. Exercise can have a temporary dulling effect on the appetite, but 18 pounds in a month is an unusual amount of weight loss - call your doctor. It may well be nothing - but then again, it may not. Better to call your doctor and find out it's nothing, than to not call your doctor when you should.

Let us know what the doctor says.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I concur with Kacey. Exercise can have the counterintuitive effect of lowering your appetite, but that's a lot of weight loss for one month and I would be concerned. A visit to your physician is in order, especially if you were of roughly normal weight to begin with.

newGuy12

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I have lost 18 pounds in the past month of beginning my martial arts journey.

Good gosh! 18 pounds in one month? Yes, consider to consult a medical doctor. You must really be laying it down in the school! Good practice!

All the best!

Robert

Ping898

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
got to also be careful cause 18 lbs, even though you may be working out, may be muscle weight, not fat your loosing, having a counter effect o your goals because you are not eating and your body thinks it is in starvation mode...

OP
ktaylor75

ktaylor75

Orange Belt