Learning and Training Different Arts

Northern Man

White Belt
Reaction score
So far I'm a beginner in Tae Kwon Do (Yellow Belt, only due to inactivity because of an injury), I'm thinking of adding some other arts into my "to learn" schedule. Lately I've been thinking of Boxing or Judo, boxing for the reason that it's a great cardio workout and has some nasty punches and combos you should learn without a reason not to, plus on top of that it would help out with hand technique speed. But here's the kicker: I'm a right handed Southpaw. Meaning, my left hand is my stronger hand even though I'm used to my right hand in any other situation. I know it's not an uncommon thing to happen but, what would be the pros and cons of learning such an awkward stance from Boxing? Then we have Judo, I would like to learn to grapple more and since you don't want to go down in the streets or in MMA/whatever, unless on your terms, you should be able to throw the other guy to the ground rather than make them tackle you down to the ground. Which would make more of a sense as my "next to" learn martial art according to the "pros" on this site? (Note, I'm not quiting Tae Kwon Do just yet, just musing on what I should do after certain things have been achieved.)

Plus, this is my first post here. So hello.

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Nothing wrong with southpaw in boxing or grappling. You have some advantages in that you will train with a lot of authodox but the won't train as much with southpaw giving you more familiarity.

Do the martial art that interests you.

OP
N

Northern Man

White Belt
Reaction score
Nothing wrong with southpaw in boxing or grappling. You have some advantages in that you will train with a lot of authodox but the won't train as much with southpaw giving you more familiarity.

Do the martial art that interests you.