LE guy looking for direction

Blue Panther

White Belt
Reaction score
First of all, I'd like to say hello to all...I'm new to the MT forums and look forward to the shared wisdom. I'm curious if there are any users in the field of Law Enforcement and, more specifically, if there's an area/forum specific to cops. I'm novice to the Martial Arts, having practiced Kempo and most recently have begun practicing Bando. I'd like to hear from others in LE as to what styles you have found to be more 'practical / tactical'. I'd like to hone my skills in the most practical of applications to my field. As you may know, LE Defensive Tactics are not always regularly available for practice, due mainly to budgetary constraints, and I would like to find a system that I can truly achieve 'practical reward' from.

Thank you...

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to Martial Talk! :)

As for your question. No, there is no LEO specific area, however, there are a number of folks here who come from a LEO/Security background. Feel free to look thru the General Martial arts and General SD sections. There are also specific areas for the discussions of firearms and knives, as well as an extensive FMA section. We have alot of skilled people in the Kenpo sections as well.

Feel free to start some threads! :)

Mike

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Greetings Brother..There is no LE section here yet..The handfull of LEO's that hang out here find answers to their questions among the many Threads and by using the Search option...Asking 100 MA what system/discipline they recommend to achieve a "practical reward and you're going to get 100 answers...

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hello, and welcome to MartialTalk!