But if there is any proving ground
For a Martial Art it is M.M.A.
:boxing:
:asian:
Primo

OP
G

GouRonin

I think MMA has a certain style of it's own. My BJJ instructor says that sure this stuff works in the ring, but no one there has his buddies about to jump in, knives, packing, other objects. It, like anything else has it's time and place.

I agree that MMA has a place in proving things to an extent.

My experience with Krav Maga has been they grab and pound. The knife work, while I am not an expert, seems to leave some lines open. However, the grab and knee for example does have a lot of merit.

I do know Oleg has done work work in Systema with Vlad.

OP
T

thatoneguy

i think Krav Maga is one of those styles that is more of a quick lesson in self deffense
it is not the best style or anything but it isnt bad
but it is used by thegovernment of isreal so ill guess its fairly effective in a fight

OP
G

GouRonin

Originally posted by thatoneguy
i think Krav Maga is one of those styles that is more of a quick lesson in self deffense

Good point. I think many people dismiss it because they work on the perception that your opponent will be untrained. But many martial arts systems do that.

Many however, don't.

cdhall

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I was about to start a thread like this but found this thread on a search.

I saw something on Krav Maga this weekend on Discovery Health.
I just spoke to an instructor tonight while I was on a sales call.

It seems that it is a solid business/franchise model with protected territories and they only do Self Defense, no forms, some weapons. I don't think they "spar" so much as they fight and work on pads and padded opponents.

I saw one of their choke defenses on TV last night and I don't think it would work as well as they are claiming, I will try it tomorrow in class if I get a chance. Otherwise, they seem to like a lot of stuff that we teach in Kenpo so I was curious about it.