Jukendo / Tankendo - Bayonet Fighting

Sojobo

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

A couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to be invited to take part in a Jukendo seminar.

I enjoyed being an absolute beginner again, and it was great fun - trying to poke holes in your training partner!

There seems to be very few dojo (outside of Japan) that practice this.

Anyone have any experience of it, and what did you think?

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hi,

A couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to be invited to take part in a Jukendo seminar.

I enjoyed being an absolute beginner again, and it was great fun - trying to poke holes in your training partner!

I suspect that its one of those interesting past times, that struggles to find a real world use, like juggling and stamp collecting

Midnight-shadow

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
I suspect that its one of those interesting past times, that struggles to find a real world use, like juggling and stamp collecting

The same could be said of a lot of traditional weapons training. A couple of weeks back I was practicing spear thrusts in formation, something that has no real practical use in today's world.

To the OP, we're you doing this in formation or as a single entity?

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Does that really contribute to the conversation?
its just a bit of amusement on my part as to the things people pick for hobbies,

looking Down list of possible hobbies
woodwork
rug making
gardening
model making
knitting
bayonets fighting

that the one for me

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
The most famous bayonet charge in recent memory came from the British in 2004.

Here is a short write up:
A Bayonet Charge Saved A Whole Lot Of Lives During The Iraq War

Bayonet training also has cross training with spear work, shovel, long stick, etc. It is definitely not useless in a modern world and could give you the right advantages in certain situations.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni