Results are only viewable after voting.
Status
Not open for further replies.
G

GouRonin

Yes?
No?
Yes with conditions?
Drop your two cents worth in and tell us why!

:soapbox:

Cruentus

Grandmaster
Reaction score
See....I skewed the vote....100% say no!!!

All Gore??? What about Ralph Nader?

To address the thread:
Some may disagree, but when I say "No" I am refering to Black Belt.

I was trained under the thought that Rank before Black Belt is revokeable, but a Black Belt is not. So, lets say someone makes it to Blue Belt, quits for 10 years, then returns. If they don't know anything, I could see reason for a possible demotion (although as an instructor I would never demote them for that, but I wouldn't let them progress in rank until they know what they need to know to progress). I could definatily see a demotion for bad behavior, though, in the pre-black belt levels.

I do not feel that a Black Belt can be taken from someone, once they've earned it. To me it is like a high school or College Diploma. Lets say the President of Oakland University decides to hate me, and gets on the T.V. and publically denounces me as "the worst Oakland University student ever!" I still earned my diploma from Oakland U, it is endorsed by the state, so the University cannot revoke it no matter what they want to do. Same goes for a black belt. If an instructor has a falling out with a student, that instructor can denounce that student all he wants, but I don't feel that he can "revoke" his black belt, no matter what he wants to do.