Interested (but concerned) about training in Asia?

Chuck Johnson

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
For anyone who is interested in training in Asia (in particular Korea or Japan), but has concerns about it (i.e. finding a job, getting a visa, dealing with the language)? I have been training out here for 12 years, and have lived in Hong Kong, Thailand, Korea and Japan. My longest stints were in Korea (4 years), and Japan (9 years). If anyone has any questions please feel free to drop a line.

Particularly those who are worried about safety in Japan after the Fukushima nuclear crisis, while Im not an expert in the matter, I can let ya know what is happening, and what the general conditions of things are in Tokyo right now.

By the way, I don't receive any email notifications when people respond to my threads... are we supposed to?

Hey! Hows it goin over there?
I lived and trained in Busan for awhile. I went to Soul for a week and trained also.
I use to live in Cambodia, Thailand & Singapore. Did alot of Muay Thai trainin in Phuket. I fought and won in Singapore and Cambodia (had to represent).
I really miss it over there.

Although I dont know about that Japan Fukushima nuclear crap. I wouldnt take any chances. I dont even eat seafood that comes from over there. LOL!

Helpful advice time! Go to your settings (top of the page), and go to General Settings. Make sure that "Default Thread Subscription Mode" is set to "Instantly, using email".

Next, I do have to ask why you're making this offer? You are, by your own admission here, not an expert on such things as safety in Japan after the Fukushima disaster, but can give general information on what Tokyo is like at the moment? There are a number of members who live in Japan, and many informed areas that information can be gained from.