I need advice.

Ivo

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

My name is Ivo and I come from Europe.

I've been training Capoiera for over 5 years. I stopped training 2 years ago because I didn't feel any joy coming from my training. My way of thinking was wrong and I didn't understand what martial arts is. On every training I avoided facing my weaknesses and didn't make any progress at all.
Now I've been thinking about it a lot and i finally realised what is the purpose of training and martial arts - to master my own body.
Meanwhile while searching inspiration in life I've become and exchange student and I'm currently studying in a highschool in Taiwan.
Having that opportunity of staying in Asia, the motherland of martial arts I want to come back to training martial arts, although don't know what to choose.

Now, to my question:

As I've been learning Capoiera I realized it's not really that effective if it comes to sparring with a person who uses another style, since it's very different in terms of positioning.

I'm interested in learning a martial art which is actually helpful with fighting/defending.

Here, in Taiwan I can only choose between Kung Fu and Karate. Can anyone share their thoughts about these two?

Thanks in advance :)

JowGaWolf

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Some times you just have to really learn how to work those techniques

Reactions: Ivo

Hanzou

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I've been training Capoiera for over 5 years. I stopped training 2 years ago because I didn't feel any joy coming from my training. My way of thinking was wrong and I didn't understand what martial arts is. On every training I avoided facing my weaknesses and didn't make any progress at all.
Now I've been thinking about it a lot and i finally realised what is the purpose of training and martial arts - to master my own body.