How did black gi's become standard for kenpo?

JohnPeace

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm new to EPAK and have been asking why kenpo students wear a black gi rather than the white worn by most traditional systems. Some instructors tell me that Mr. Parker started the practice with his instructors wearing black, then later his black belts, then later brown belts, but the trail of information seems to end there regarding how it became standard for most EPAK/AKTS students at all belt levels. Anyone know who/when/why? Thanks, JP

girlbug2

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I can tell you what my sensei told me. He said that in the martial arts, white symbolizes a pure style, aka traditional. Black symbolizes something that has been mixed. Another interpretation of those colors is that white means soft/weak and black means hard/powerful.

In Hwa Rang do, white on the top and black pants symbolizes for instance that the style is weak on upper body but powerful on lower body, the legs. That's a style that is very heavy on kicking.

So regarding the American Kenpo gis, the reason we wore black was to symbolize that AK is an "outlaw" style for not being traditional or "pure".

Of course, I would like to also believe that it means that we are really hard badasses:)

OP
J

JohnPeace

White Belt
Reaction score
Thanks girlbug2. I received a similar response to my question offline, that black symbolizes both a hybrid art and also that AK is the most combat-related art compared to others that have a greater degree of sport content. In short, kenpo guys/gals are hardcore warriors. jp

"Hit me once and I will walk away, hit me twice and you won't." jp

John Bishop

Master Black Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
In the tradition kenpo schools of Mitose and Chow, instructors wore black and students wore white. Both Adriano Emperado and Ed Parker came from the Chow school and carried on that tradition at first.