Hello im new with a Question.

axal_the_wise

White Belt
Reaction score
People call me tc. Im preparing to learn Shotokan very soon although i dont think i can do it mentaly because i might laugh during a meditation session because i find silence near alot of other people quite odd and wierd and may cause me to laugh and not be able to stop. How can i overcome this fear?

MA-Caver

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Welcome to MT Axal/TC. Happy posting.

Whether you laugh or not will depend upon how seriously you take your training. Meditation is for your mind and not the minds of others. You're supposed to have no thoughts, sort of emptying the vessel as it were. Or at least you're supposed to meditate on what you received from that session (of training). Letting your mind wander to the weirdness of the silence around you... and you're not taking it seriously....
Better let your instructor know before-hand what you're inclined to do... he might have a suggestion.

(sincerely)Best of luck in your future with Martial Arts. :asian:

davemitchel

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Welcome TC. You have my sympathy.

Suppose some of us laugh when we are nervous, some of us get talkative and some of us get tongue-tied.

Speak to your Sensei beforehand and let him know that you fear laughing and that it is not out of disrespect, but nervousness. I am sure he/she will understand. Maybe sharing your fear with the Sensei will help you not to laugh.

Good luck!
Dave

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Greetings and Welcome to MT...

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome, and happy posting! :wavey: