form

marlon

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
It has been some time now that i practice the yang long form. In the last little while i have noticed that there seems to be really only two types of tai chi: chen style and yang style...everything else seems to be different sequencing of the yang style and "stylistic" differences in practice. Since i am very new to tai chi can someone explain the differences in the various yang styles that are not about slight variations in the form while adhering to the same principles? I do not what to start some war, rather i want to understand better the practice i have taken up...without quasi religious zeal; or politics; or bravado.

respectfully,
Marlon

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I don't know much about Yang style, but Sun style actually looks quite different if you ever get the chance to view it. While the principles and whatnot are the same, the postures are different and it has different technical emphasis.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Chen is the first family of Taiji and directly from Chen you get Zhaobao which was from Chen Quin-ping but the Zhaobao people will now argue that point were once they stated it.

Quin-quin ping taught Li Jing-Ting who founded Hu Lei Style of Tai Chi

Chen Chang-xing taught Yang Luchan

Yang Lu-chan (Early Yang Style) and Chen Quin-ping (Chen style and Zhaobao) taught Wu Yu- xiang who taught his nephew Lee I-yu who taught Hao Wei-chen. And Hao style is born.

Hao Wei-chen taught Sun Lu-tang who also studied Xingyiquan with Kuo Yun-shen and Baguazhang with Cheng T'ing-hua (who was a student of Dong Hai-chuan, the founder of Baguazhang). Sun combined Taijiquan, Xingyiquan and Baguazhang and now you have Sun style Taijiquan.

Wu Quanyu learned from Yang Luchan or Yang Banhou (Yang family says Yang Banhou Wu family says Yang Luchan) and you Wu style which later splits into Northern and Southern Wu style. The current Wu family is Southern Wu