Escape from Side Top Hold?

Sarah

Senior Master
Reaction score
I am an absolute beginner with grappling so this may seem a really easy question to the more experienced!

I would like to know some different options to escape from a side top hold! I only know one way so far, and would like some opinions of the experienced members here.

I hope I have the right term, this is where your partner has their hip in your armpit, their legs are spread, and they are holding on around your neck!

Thanks.

M

Mark Weiser

Well it depends on what is allowed.

For instance you can use pressure or pinch to the forearm just above the elbow for pain and release. If you can reach the towards the armpit area and grab on the group of muscles between the armpit and breast area and give it a very healthy squeeze will cause them to let go and scream if you appy a lot of pressure and do it quickly.

Just some thoughts I am sure others have more.

OP
Sarah

Sarah

Senior Master
Reaction score
Thanks Mark

The one that I do know involves a good squeeze around the middle, but you seem to need a bit of strengh for that.

Im thinking more in a compitition setting, were you can't hit etc! and maybe for someone that doesnt have a lot of upper body strengh.

Any Idea's???

Mark Weiser said:
Well it depends on what is allowed.

For instance you can use pressure or pinch to the forearm just above the elbow for pain and release. If you can reach the towards the armpit area and grab on the group of muscles between the armpit and breast area and give it a very healthy squeeze will cause them to let go and scream if you appy a lot of pressure and do it quickly.

Just some thoughts I am sure others have more.

A

Aaron Little

Sarah,
I am heading out the door to teach but I will post some options for you later tonight.

OP
Sarah

Sarah

Senior Master
Reaction score
Thanks Aaron look forward to it, your post's are always really helpful!

Aaron Little said:
Sarah,