Do you ever feel as if the Wing Chun we Learn today isn't original?

ipmann97

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've been learning wing chun for 5 years and I feel as if it has been changed to much from it's origins and I think it's wrong to change the style and then teach the new way. If you change the style keep it to yourself and teach everyone else the way you were taught.

Sent from my DLI-L22 using Tapatalk

Kung Fu Wang

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
If you change the style keep it to yourself and teach everyone else the way you were taught.
If you have this kind of attitude, all your life you may be a good "copy machine", no more and no less. Is that what you want to be?

- After DOS has been evolved into Window, do you still use DOS?
- Do you still use your pager (beeper)?

In the river, the back wave will push the front wave. The front wave will crash onto the rock. That's the law of nature.

Last edited:
OP
I

ipmann97

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
If you have this kind of attitude, all your life you may be a good "copy machine", no more and no less. Is that what you want to be?

After DOS has been evolved into Window, how may people are still using DOS? Do you still use your beeper?
90% of Wing Chun styles out there are robotic with no body movement, I'm all about expressing and adapting yourself to new styles but that doesn't mean mix it up with your own style and then try teaching everyone else it as if it's your own style. I've always been taught to use the body and be free with expression. Bruce Lee developed Jeet Kun Do because it suited him personally but that doesn't mean everyone can use it. Learn a style then adjust it for yourself, don't try changing the style for everyone.

Danny T

Senior Master
Reaction score
I've been learning wing chun for 5 years and I feel as if it has been changed to much from it's origins...
How so? In what ways?