Deno Cain

F

freddrinkwine

I saw the posts / questions regarding Deno Cain. Sadly, Mr. Cain was convicted of 3 counts of criminal sexual conduct with children in May of 2003. He is serving 3-15 years in prison. Authorities suspect that he had been molesting children since 1985 -dozens of people have come forward. Another black eye on the martial arts. Back when I was a student in a large school in the Detroit area - Mr. Cain came to our school and did a seminar. He was a long-time friend of my Sensei. Cain was friendly and motivating - but I could see he was similar to my own teacher - speaking to us all as if we are children. We need to open our eyes in the martial arts community. There are too many people who "have been around since the 70's" and thus anything they say goes. We need to recognize the unwarranted loyalty that is propogated in many a dojo / shame based environments where creepy molesters abuse the flock and everyone looks away. We need to start looking directly at these people who feel they are beyond question simply because they can kick the crap out of everyone in their school.

What happened with Mr. Cain is truly tragic (I'm glad he was stopped though - I'm glad he's no longer being made rich by the goup of people he was molesting freely). He became a molester most likely because HE was molested as a child and never got the help he needed.

MARTIAL ARTISTS: START SHINING THE LIGHT ON ALL THE CREEPS. STOP PROTECTING THEM - THEY DON'T DESERVE TO BE PROTECTED; THEIR VICTIMS ARE THE ONES WHO NEED PROTECTION. STOP GIVING YOUR UNWARRANTED, UNQUESTIONING LOYALTIES TO THESE TWISTED EGOMANIACS.