compressed vertabrae

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hello all, the first week end of October (2004) I took the hard way down off of a 2 story roof, landing flat of my back. The good news is that I remembered to empty my lungs on the way down and made (at least) an attempt to slap out on impact. Bad news is that I ended up with a small tear in the rotator cuff and a badly compressed sacral vert. The shoulder is back to 100% thanks to some serious physical therapy, no more pain from the vert itself but am still having serious muscle stiffness on the lower left side of the back (constantly knotted) that requires just a little getting used to and severe burning in the area when I have to sit more than about 15 minutes at a time...and I'm a truck driver. The burning is usually relieved by placing a towel behind my back as a lumbar support. I've discussed this with my physical therapist but only got the wise crack answer "Oh, that's just old age." I'm only 34. He has prescribed side stretches, bridges and core strengthening exercises but I've hit a plateau that doesn't show any sign of breaking. Any other ideas for convincing the knots in my lower back to go away?

GAB

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi Jeff,

What you might want to do is to see a Dr and get an Xray of your lower back, it sounds like a compressed disc. It is in the S-1 and L-5 sounds like, if it gives you a burning sensation it usually has to do with a pinched nerve.

Vertabrae is a bone, and the disc is in between, they rupture and can cause the problem you are talking about.

Make sure you follow it up soon, it will only get worse...

Regards, Gary

OP
theletch1

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score