Coming back after Soooo many years....

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I was reading the "Once a black belt...always a black belt?" thread and wondered if any of you came back to the MA after a long layoff. I once held a high rank in my system, but quit training for about 15 or 16 years. When I finally returned to train again, I was fat, old (52), and inept. I've been back for a year and I'm still something of a puzzle to the other students...sometimes I'm clueless, other times advanced techniques pop out of nowhere like something out of one of the "Bourne" movies. It's wierd, but I'm lovin' it. How about the rest of you?

bowser666

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I studied Kempo for 2.5 -3 years and achieved a high rank , then i took 10 years off ( accidently) got fatter, forgot most stuff. THen I recently made a decision to get back into MA. So I went for a change and switched to Northern Longfist Kung Fu. I am so glad I made the decisions to get back into it. I wouldn't have it any other way.

7starmarc

Green Belt
Reaction score
I've had a couple breaks in training. Started in Tang Soo Do as teenager, stopped to go to college. Dabbled in a few arts (Aikido, Hwa Rang Do) before settling in on MJLH Kung Fu (a Northern Shaolin Style) in medical school. Stopped for Internship/Residency/Marriage/Children, restarted 10 years later in Seven Star Praying Mantis, been with it for about 3 years now.

While my brain had managed to forget all of the sequences of my previous style's forms, my instructors have said they could see that my body had not forgotten how to move in the appropriate ways to execute techniques (in forms and application, open hand and weapons). Of course, not everything was the same across the styles, so I had some unlearning to do as well.