Changed goals?

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Since you've started training, however long ago that was, have your goals changed? What were they then, and what are they now?

Jeff

Steel Tiger

Senior Master
Reaction score
Since you've started training, however long ago that was, have your goals changed? What were they then, and what are they now?

Jeff

I started training in my late teens and back then I was looking for a way to defend myself, pure and simple. I changed schools when I went to university and then I pursued a desire to know the intricacies of the forms I was then learning. Now, nearly twenty years later, I am seeking to understand and master the internal aspects of my art.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
My goals have changed in a way I didn't expect. After just over a year in one style and setting what I thought was a strong goal to reach my black belt, I found myself in circumstances where I no longer lived or worked near my school, and thus had to make a change for a different style. My goal of earning a black belt was changed because my new school doesn't offer belt ranks.

I take my new training seriously and have no plans to leave my school. However, it made me realize what is really important to me. It's not a belt rank or even a certain level of proficiency.

What's important to me is to keep training, to keep trying, and to keep doing in a way that gives me the most possible mat time at the best possible school. That doesn't have the same specifity as "earning a black belt", but I believe that if I continuously work towards that goal, everything else will fall in to place. I hope that makes sense :D

kidswarrior

Senior Master
Reaction score
Since you've started training, however long ago that was, have your goals changed?

Immensely

What were they then
To pierce the mystique of the Asian arts.

and what are they now?