Cardio or Muscle Training ?

WillSandler66

White Belt
Reaction score
Should cardio or muscle be my top priority? Mix of both? I want to reduce pain, have higher stamina while keeping power. I am new to this so any help is appreciated.

oldwarrior

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hi

What art are you studying might give folks a better idea for advice

WaterGal

Master of Arts
Reaction score
What's causing you pain? Neither cardio nor strength training will make it hurt less to get punched in the face, but if you're having, for example, lower back pain then focusing on strengthening your core would probably help you a lot, while if you're getting a "stitch" in your side when training then you might want to focus more on cardio.

Personally, I think both are important. If you want to increase your sparring stamina, I'd recommend including not just distance cardio (running, biking, etc), but also some HIIT activities. Tabatas and things like that. When you're running, you get into a groove and do the same thing at a pace you can manage for a long time. But sparring isn't like that, it's always changing and you need to generate bursts of speed.

Danny T

Senior Master
Reaction score
Should cardio or muscle be my top priority? Mix of both? I want to reduce pain, have higher stamina while keeping power. I am new to this so any help is appreciated.
Ok I see you train MMA.
What is the purpose for training?
To be in overall good physical shape, to fight a few times or to become a high level amateur or even a high level pro, self defense, or something else?
Decent cardio and overall strength is good for most all people but if you are seeking high level competition then overall strength and a high level of fight cardio is very important. If seeking self defense then average strength and cardio can get you by with good skills until the confrontation goes beyond 30 seconds then you are going to wish you had better cardio real quick.