Are we reducing or cheapened what it takes to be considered brave or to be a hero?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chrisinmd

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Are we reducing what it takes to be considered brave or to be a hero?

I went grocery shopping today and they had a sign that says hero's work here. Is the 25 year (assuming they have no serious underlying health issue) old cashier at a grocery store a hero for working during covid 19?

I guess when a lot of people think of the term "hero" they think of a guy storming the beaches of Normandy or pulling a kid out of a burning car. Or a guy (or woman) jumping it the water and saving someone from drowning.

Have we cheapened the word hero to basically cover any "essential employee"? I work as a city bus driver in the Wash DC area. So should I be considered a hero for working with the public during this pandemic and possibly exposing myself to the virus? Granted there have been quite a few metro bus drivers who did end up catching covid 19 and did end up dying in NYC for example. But im 42 and im in relatively good shape so yes I am taking a risk. But I would consider it a relatively minor risk. So does that rise to the level of showing courage or being a hero?

I do also notice the hero's work here sign in front of hospitals and places where medical staff work and I would completely agree they meet the definition of hero.

Anyway thoughts?

granfire

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
well, yes, we are cheapening the term.

But no, not exactly because we call grocery workers that.

Not everybody who puts on a uniform leaves Ft Dix.
Or even if they do, not everybody actually does heroic things.

On the other hand, when everybody else got to work from the safety of home, they had to show up and brave the public which is more or less in tune with the situation, depending on where you are.

I mean, they have been insulted, assaulted spit at, coughed on, and yes, even been shot.