Wado ryu karate

allofthekatas

White Belt
Reaction score
I recently took up wado ryu karate and haven't been able to really find anyone else who studies it. Any practitioners on here? I've been studying for about 6 months.

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I recently took up wado ryu karate and haven't been able to really find anyone else who studies it. Any practitioners on here? I've been studying for about 6 months.

I did it for about ten years before the club I was at closed down and I had to change styles.

OP
A

allofthekatas

White Belt
Reaction score
I could have sworn they're sending it ninjas to kill the practitioners off! xD

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I studied it very briefly in Lakewood, Colorado in the late 1980s. I did not continue or earn any belts, and I basically forgot about it until 4 years ago when I started studying Isshin-Ryu in Michigan. I recall it being a very good art; I wish I had continued training at the time, but I did not. My fault entirely.

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I could have sworn they're sending it ninjas to kill the practitioners off! xD

Really? It's a fairly common style in the UK and Europe I've found. Are you sure the Ninjas aren't from Wado and just hiding from you?

kitkatninja

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Really? It's a fairly common style in the UK and Europe I've found...

Agreed... For example, there are 4 associations that teach Wado-Ryu karate within 15 mins of where I live.

OP
A

allofthekatas

White Belt
Reaction score
I guess it's just where I live. Outside of my school I haven't found many others who practice it online and such.

kitkatninja

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I guess it's just where I live. Outside of my school I haven't found many others who practice it online and such.