TTCS Hsing-I

DaPoets

Green Belt
Reaction score
Well Sunday I leave to learn Hsing-I. Eat sleep and breath Hsing-I for a week is going to be great. (I just did the week for Lok Hup Ba Fa) 10am - 10pm each day plus the late night sessisons for the energized is just going to be a ball. But as I humbly come before the MartialTalk community I would like to know some of the things I should keep in mind, possible questions to ask, and even some of your experiences in Hsing-I. I have seen a range of talent when it comes to Hsing-I with in TTCS and I must say, some are just going through the motions and some really have a strong understanding of Hsing-I and you can easily see their fluidity and force they generate as if you would not want to get in front of them as they charge ahead.

Thanks in advance and I appreciate the thoughts!
:lurk:

**I guess for those that don't know, I have been training in Taoist Tai Chi for 12 years now and I do have some experience in Yang Style, Tae Kwon Do, Praying Mantis Kung Fu, Karate. My foundations in Tai Chi have been said to be very good thus learning Lok Hup Ba Fa came very easy to me and felt natural.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
From what I understand of the TTCS Xingyiquan there is no standing training; Wuji, Zhan zhuang and Santi Shi . I have heard that the TTCS does stand in Zhan zhuang but that is not enough to have any sort of understanding of Xingyiquan

Now I am hoping I am wrong about no Santi and you can tell me so when you return from the training. But if TTCS does not stand in Santi there is absolutely no way to understand Xingyiquan alignment, power, movement, etc. This is the basis of Xingyiquan and without it you are just going through the motions.

Also my last Sifu, his Sifu and a few other Xingyi people I have been able to talk to all say basically the same thing. If you can not stand in santi for 20 to 30 minutes per side you are not even a beginner.